YSMU students are granted an exquisite opportunity to acquire various nominal scholarships. Nominees for the mentioned scholarships are chosen taking into consideration the following criteria:

  • Absolute academic excellence
  • Scientific publications
  • Foreign language knowledge
  • Participation in republican, international competitions, olympiads, student scientific sessions
  • Participation in scientific and social activities of university faculties

The following nominal scholarships are available:

Named after Mkhitar Heratsi
The great Armenian scientist and doctor of the 12th century, Mkhitar Heratsi is the founder of Armenian classical medicine. His works included the study of feverish and infectious diseases, their etiology, pathogenesis, prevention and treatment. He also studied the diseases of the urinary tract and many other diseases. Since 1989 YSMI (later University) has been named after Mkhitar Heratsi.

Named after Ruben Sevak (1885-1915)
Renowned poet and physician, author of numerous valuable works.

Named after Hakob Hovhannisian (1875-1937)
Biochemist, professor, founder of Biochemistry department, first rector of YSMU.

Named after Grigor Areshyan (1881-1957)
Honorary scientist of ASSR, obstetrician-gynecologist, professor, founder of the Obstetrics and Gynecology department at YSMU. Under his supervision the research institute of Obstetrics and Gynecology was established in Yerevan in 1932.

Named after Vahan Artsruni (1857-1977)
Honorary scientist of ASSR, anatomist, hygienist, otolaryngologyst, DMS, professor, one of the founders of YSMU.

Named after Levon Orbeli (1882-1958) 
Physiologist, professor, academician of AS USSR, AMS USSR and AS ASSR, general-colonel of medical service.

Named after Levon Hovhannisyan (1885-1970)
Therapist, cardiologist, medical historian, professor, DMS, academician of AS ASSR, honorary scientist of USSR.

Named after Rouben Yolyan (1894-1955)
Professor, DMS, Head of department of faculty Surgery, member of AMS USSR, honorary scientist of Armenian SSR, the founder of blood transfusion research institute in Armenia.

Named after Varfalamey Fanardjian
Professor, DMS, academician of AMS USSR, honorary scientist of USSR, founder of X-Ray and Radiology in Armenia. 

Fund Scholarships
Youth Foundation of Armenia
Turpanjian Family Foundation
Aegean Family Foundation
Armenian Community to Armenian Youth Foundation. 

Other nominal scholarships are also available. The students are allowed to participate in the competition only upon the reference of the course.